BWF World Championship: Organizing a major achievement for the Indian Badminton Association, says Himanta Biswa Sarma | Badminton news

The World Badminton Federation (BWF) on Tuesday awarded India the prestigious BWF World Championship for 2026. This is the second time that India has hosted an annual premium tournament, except for the annual Olympics. India hosted the 2009 BWF World Championships in Hyderabad. Since then, India has played several major badminton tournaments in the 2014 Thomas and Uber Cup finals, in addition to the Asian Championships Annual BWF Super 500, Yonex-Sunrise India Open.

Himanta Biswa Sarma, president of the Badminton Association of India, was confident that organizing the World Championships in 2026 would help take further steps to make Indian badminton a world power.

“Organizing a former tournament will be a great achievement for us at the Badminton Association of India as well as in the country,” he said.

“Thank you to BWF for considering India’s most famous and important badminton tournament and I believe it will be a great opportunity and motivation for game enthusiasts and sports to see tremendous growth across the country,” added Sarmak, recently 2021 He was an elected member of the BWF Council for -24 terms.

The Coronavirus Pandemic, which disrupted sports activities in 2020, has forced the BWF to re-schedule its international tournaments as the sports governing body has moved the 2021 Sudirman Cup to Suzhou, China from Vantaa, Finland.

Originally the 2023 Sudirman Cup for India will be held in Suzhou (China).

“A tournament chain was canceled and due to the Pandemic it was not possible to make a stage, globally, the BWF approached us with an alternative proposal. YES we thought it was a great opportunity for the country as well as the badminton Brotherhood,” said Ajay K Singhania YES General Secretaries.

India has so far won 10 World Championship medals with current champion PV Sindhu, winning two gold, two silver and two bronze medals. Prakash Padukon won India’s first medal at the 1983 World Championships.


In 2019, Sai Pruneeth of Olympic B finished a 36-year wait to win the men’s individual world championship medal in Basel, Switzerland.

In addition, the 2012 Olympic Medalist Saina Nehwal won silver and bronze in the 2015 and 2017 editions respectively, with the women’s combination of Ashwini Ponnappa and Jwala Gutta winning the Bronze Medal in 2011 in London.

Topics mentioned in this article


Be Updated with all the
Latest Entertainment News
Latest Lifestyle News
Latest Music News
Latest Movie News
Latest TV Shows Entertainment News
Latest Tech News

Leave a Comment