ICC extends men’s ODI World Cup to 20 teams from 2027, T20 to the 20 World Cup 20 teams from 2024 |  Cricket News

ICC extends men’s ODI World Cup to 20 teams from 2027, T20 to the 20 World Cup 20 teams from 2024 | Cricket News

The ODI Men’s World Cup will become a 14-team championship again in 2027 and 2031, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said on Tuesday. The changes were announced by the ICC, the general governing body of the cricket, which presented the general program for the years 2024-2031.

Meanwhile, the Champions Trophy, a ‘mini’ World Championship last held in 2017, when Pakistan won in England, will have to be revived in 2025 and 2029 as the event of the top eight international teams of the day.

Only 10 players played for the England hosts to win the 2019 World Cup, compared to 14 four years earlier.

A statement released by ICC management said: “The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 14 will be a 54-match event between 2027 and 2031, and the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be extended to 20 teams, with a 55-match event in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030. “

The management, however, has maintained its format for the World Test Championship in the next test, with nine teams playing six series each to compete in the finals every two years.

India and New Zealand will play the inaugural WTC final in Southampton, England later this month.

The expanded Men’s World Cup, traditionally held every four years, will follow the same format used in the 2003 edition, when they were the main hosts of the tournament that South Africa won in Australia.

Thus, the 14 teams will be divided into two teams of seven, with the best three from each team advancing to the Super Six phase, followed by the finals and final.

The men’s T20 World Cup will consist of four teams of five, with the best two from each team advancing to the Super Eighth phase, followed by the playoffs and a final.

The Champions Trophy, in line with the history of the tournament, will follow the previous editions with two teams of four, the semi-finals and the final.

6. PSL: The final is scheduled for June 24, the Pakistani team will travel to England on June 25 | Cricket News
Read More

Reducing the number of parties involved in the 2011 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand to 10 was a controversial decision by the ICC, which critics believe frustrated the overall growth of the game.

Officials defended the move at the time, saying the lighter format reduced the risk of disagreements and was preferred by Broadcasters.

But it seems that the overall benefit of global expansion is the value of the current ICC hierarchy, the T20 World Cup has been held every two years since 2024 and has grown from 16 to 20 teams.

After the ICC decided to reduce the number of teams in the World Cup for more than 50 years to 10, it launched the 13-team ODI Super League.

The top eight teams will qualify directly for the 2023 World Cup in India.

But limited to 10 World Cup teams, the ICC helped 12 of its member nations take part in two demonstration events, losing to countries such as the Netherlands or juniors that competed in previous editions, such as the Netherlands. .


“The ratification of the ICC events program until 2031 is a major step forward for Cricket and will be the basis of the growth strategy for the next decade,” said ICC Acting CEO Geoff Allardice.

The last T20 World Cup is set to be held in October and November in India, although it has yet to be moved to the United Arab Emirates because the number of cricket viruses has risen in the potential economic country of cricket.

The issues mentioned in this article


Be Updated with all the Latest Sports News

Join the discussion