Shikhar Dhawan directs new Indian look ODI, T20I series in Sri Lanka |  Cricket News

Shikhar Dhawan directs new Indian look ODI, T20I series in Sri Lanka | Cricket News

The Indian Cricket Control Commission (BCCI) announced the Indian Men’s Squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series and three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka. Shikhar Dhawan will be under the direction of current captain Virat Kohli and vice-captain Rohit Sharma on a tour of England with the Test team. Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been appointed Deputy Captain. The gang has several new faces in the mid-order Nitish Rana battalion, K Gowtham in general, Ruturaj Gaikwad battalion and Chetan Sakariya in the intense bowling alley. Devdutt Padikkal, another open player, also appears in the team as Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore and Simarjeet Singh have been named net players.

The BCCI also confirmed the schedule of the upcoming series with all the matches to be played at the R Premadasa stadium in Colombo.

The ODIs will be played on July 13, 16 and 18 followed by the T20Is on July 21, 23 and 25.

The team selected for the tour is missing several regular players as the Indian Test team is on tour across England to play in the World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand from 18 June in Southampton.

WTC Final: Sunil Gavaskar Wishes Dinesh Karthi Lucky for His "Commentary Debut" | Cricket News
Read More

After the WTC final, five-match tests will be played against England from 4 August.

Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, whose Indian careers were spectacular in the series against England in March, have been nominated for a tour of Sri Lanka.

The beating of the seasoned Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead to a quick Bowling attack consisting of the newly arrived Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and Sakariya.

Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar and Kuldeep Yadav are spinning on the front line, while Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya and K Gowtham are interspersed.


Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan are the two nominated goalkeepers in the national team.

Cuadrilla: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Krunal Gowth Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

The issues mentioned in this article


Be Updated with all the Latest Sports News

Join the discussion