Sri Lanka has 24 members for the England Series, directed by Kusal Perera |  Cricket News

Sri Lanka has 24 members for the England Series, directed by Kusal Perera | Cricket News

The Sri Lankan Cricket Selection Committee (SLC) selects the national gang on Tuesday for the limited series against England. Namal Rajapaksa, Minister of Youth and Sports, gave his approval to the chosen Sri Lankan gang. The Sri Lanka Group will depart in the early hours of June 9, 2021 to participate in the T20I and ODI department. Sri Lanka and England will face three T20Is and three ODIs from 23 June.

Earlier, between a discussion between Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) and national players, the Cricketers agreed to tour England without being hired.

That was when the government team ordered the players to return to Sri Lanka after their tour of England to make their assessment marks public.

Cricketers were showing resistance to their contracts because they believed they lacked transparency and did not compensate major players properly.

“This is the transparency that players demanded from the start,” ESPNcricinfo player lawyer Nishan Premathiratne said.

“They will play this tour without signing any contract. They have signed a voluntary declaration, but there is nothing about the players’ remuneration. They have always been committed to playing in Sri Lanka,” he added.

Third England-India Women's T20I Rescheduled To July 14 | Cricket News
Read More

Earlier, thirty-eight cricketers from Sri Lanka signed a document refusing to sign tour contracts and this is an increase made by 24 players who had previously resisted the new scheme.

Sri Lanka will depart for England on Tuesday evening and will play three T20I and three ODI from 23 June.


The team led by Kusal Perera suffered a 1-2 series defeat against Bangladesh in the three-match ODI series last month.

Sri Lankan gang series against England: Kusal Perera (c), Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Oshada Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananja Chameera, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Shiran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama.

The issues mentioned in this article


Be Updated with all the Latest Sports News

Join the discussion