Tokyo Olympics: Can Indian Men’s Hockey Team End Medal with Drought?  |  Olympic News

Tokyo Olympics: Can Indian Men’s Hockey Team End Medal with Drought? | Olympic News

Lately, the Indian men’s hockey team has always had to live in the shadow of the Glorious past. It is made up of eight gold medals, one silver and two bronze medals at the highest level. That, however, is history. The Indian men’s team won the Olympic medal in hockey at the 1980 Moscow Games. More than 40 years have passed and although Jinx seemed to be breaking, the barren race has continued. Under the leadership of midfielder Manpreet Singh, the Indian men’s hockey team will strive to end the drought at the Tokyo Games and bring home a medal that the country has endured so badly.

If there are superstitions, it could be the end of the medal. The last time the Olympics were in Japan, in 1964, the Indian men’s hockey team returned with gold. While this makes for good readers, people for people of great superstition, let’s look at the current team and the achievements of the recent past.

India has a strong captain and superstar to lead the fight in Tokyo. Named the men’s hockey player of the year in 2019, Manpreet Singh will represent the country for the third time at the Olympics.

Under his captaincy, the team won the Asia Cup in 2017, the Asian Champions Trophy in 2018 and the FIH Series Final in 2019.

Antilles vs Australia The 2nd ODI will resume on Saturday, the series ending on July 26th
Read More

India also reached the quarter-finals of the 2018 World Cup in Bhubaneswar and had a tremendous performance in the FIH Hockey Pro League before breaking the COVID-19 Pandemic schedule.

Improvements in overall performance have been clearly seen with the team currently in fourth place in the world.

Manpreet will have two representatives in defenders Birendra Lakra and Harmanpreet Singh. While another major American like PR Sreejesh will provide experience, India will have 10 players who will compete in the Olympics for the first time.

India is in Group A along with the defending champions, taking on Argentina, New Zealand, Spain, Australia and Japan.

India will begin its Olympic campaign against New Zealand on July 24th.


Goalkeeper: PR Sreejesh

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Birendra Lakra


Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta Sharma, Sumit

Strikers: Shamsher Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh.

Topics mentioned in this article


Be Updated with all the
Latest Entertainment News
Latest Lifestyle News
Latest Music News
Latest Movie News
Latest TV Shows Entertainment News
Latest Tech News

Join the discussion